Inaugurating board of directors of the Pharmacy and Poisons Board, National Health Insurance Fund and the Kenya Health Professions Oversight Authority.

Health CS Mutahi Kagwe on Friday inaugurated the Board of directors of the Pharmacy and Poisons Board and the National Hospital Insurance Fund Board were our Hon. Secretary General Dr. Diana Marion will be a member and the NHIF Board where our former immediate past president Dr. Were Onyino is a Member.

Speaking in Malindi where he inaugurated two other boards, NHIF and KHPOA, the CS said the government is committed to expanding health service coverage with a focus on quality as well as reduction of healthcare costs.

WhatsApp Image 2022 07 02 at 11.38.12 AM

The CS said the ministry is ready to offer support to ensure the three boards actualise their respective mandates as the country prepares for assessment by the World Health Organisation towards certification to maturity level 3.

He noted that recent publication of six statutory instruments has set the Pharmacy and Poisons Board, closer to fulfilling the key requirements for the certification.The Board will be chaired by Dr. Rodgers Atebe with Dr. Fred Siyoi as CEO. Muleli Mutuku, Dr. Paul Magutu Njaria, Dorcas Wanjiru Ngechu, Dr. John Munguti Kisengi, Miriam Wairimu Ndirangu, Stephens Ogutu Oyaya and Dr. Diana Marion are members.

The health CS also inaugurated the NHIF board which is key in government efforts towards realising Universal Health Coverage through pooling risks and funds to offer financial protection to its beneficiaries.


Hon. Lewis Nguyai will chair the new NHIF board. Other members are Dr. Isabella Maina, Michael Kahiti, Dr. Andrew W. Onyino, Albert Obed Njeru, Ben Wakhungu, Dr. Silpah Owich and Dominic Ndegwa. Dr. Peter Kamunyo is the fund’s CEO and Secretary to the Board.

Contact Us

Kenya Medical Association | KMA Centre | 4th Floor | Chyulu Road, Upper Hill

P.O BOX: 48502-00100, Nairobi-Kenya



©2023 Kenya Medical Association. All Rights Reserved. Designed By KMA ICT